The Impossible

I know this is a love song of sorts but it is more to me and I think to Sam too.
Whenever I hear it I think of what the doctor’s told us when we first got to the hospital 5 years ago. I think of all the things that nurses told us to prepare us for our future. I think of words said to us about Sam and his accident. I think of all the kind, loving, caring people who prayed for us, visited, called, texted, emailed, sent letters to Sam. People who stepped up into our lives after the accident. All of those people, prayers, words (and I am including the negative comments here too) and love shown to us were and still are counted as huge blessings to us! Then I step back, read a bit on here and marvel at ‘The Impossible’ that has all been turned around and made possible!

I have days where I am so down on myself, guilt sets in, negatives thots, the “what if’s” and when I can clearly think again I listen to his song (and a few others) and I tell myself:

Unsinkable ships, sink
Unbreakable walls, break
Sometimes the things you think would never happen
Happen just like that
Unbendable steel, bends
If the fury of the wind is unstoppable
I’ve learned to never underestimate
The impossible

Today is Sam’s BI birthday. 5 years ago today our lives changed. Sam is our ‘Impossible’ and this verse will be forever written on my heart: Matthew 19:26(NIV) Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

Leave a Reply

